Weekend sewing results…some good, some bad….

Had a few successful sewing days last week and weekend. I fished out a few items that needed finishing, ok, what really happened is that I had forgotten where I put the top since there was some hand sewing involved and I recently lifted up a skirt (in a sewing basket) that needs hemming (hand sewing again) and I found it! It was further along than I remembered and so it was an easy one to finish- tada!

Linen top

See & Sew B5203

Linen top

Linen top

Here is a terrible pic taken with my droid of the pattern. I made a straight size 12 and basted it, then tried it on. I liked the fit, it was loose and comfy, View A, but it was too long. Almost dress-like and not the look I wanted. So I cut it. Much better but maybe a tad short. I kept the short front and longer sides but it really could be about 4 inches longer. No pics of me wearing yet as wearing it tonight on our boat to see the fireworks on Clear Lake.

See & Sew B5203

See & Sew B5203

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition to this cute top, I made a pair of shorts. I used a blue cotton chambray purchased from Fabric Mart, they are currently sold out. Again, bad pics with the droid. I’d made this pattern before and found the shorts to be too high at the waist. I made size M, I took off about 2″ off the top edge and must have gained some weight around my bum because now they are a bit too snug. I fiddled with the crotch curve and let it out 1/4″ and it kind of solved the tightness. What I need to do is eat better, but I love cake and ice cream. I’m trying out the slow-carb diet by Tim Ferriss, more on that as I get into it. Been trying it out for one week.

Chambray shorts- VIEW A

Butterick 5044

Butterick 5044

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally, the wadder. I bought this pattern about 3-4 yrs ago at Wal-Mart, had just begun to get into sewing and found out they had a craft/fabric area as some stores. Like the one near my office where I could go at lunch. Didn’t realize most of what they have is polyester or quilting cotton until I had been sewing for a little while and learned about fabric and such. I had not a clue.

Anyhow, I like the look on the front of the pattern, I think because in my mind I want to look long and lean. I’m really 5ft 2 in and shaped like a rectangle. I did not make a muslin first. If I had, I would have seen that the waist on the pattern is at my high hip so it’s tight across my lower abdomen which is not flat like the picture on the pattern. I’ve figured out I am short-waisted and will need to adjust patterns for this. Can’t decide if I want to cut the dress and make it into a top and separate skirt (elastic waist) or make a belt out the linen fabric that it’s made out of and make the top flare out a bit over the belt which draws the skirt up on my body.

Looks like a potato sack

Looks like a potato sack

 

 

I really like the color of the linen fabric. Will have to think about how to proceed.

Simplicity 1993

Simplicity 1993

One thought on “Weekend sewing results…some good, some bad….

Leave a Reply

